Bases loaded, pop fly just foul down the first base line. Runner on first started on the hit (base coach was yelling at the batter to run, and confused the runner), and was six steps off when the ball was caught by the first baseman. The first baseman steps on the bag, and the runner returns and is not tagged. Is the runner out?
< spoiler space>
Of course he is, by the rule cited in the title:
[Any runner is out when] failing to retouch the base after a fair of foul fly ball is legally caught before that runner or the base is tagged by a fielder. (emphasis mine; © 2004 Little League Baseball, Inc.)
The italicized portion was what one of the assistant coaches was misinformed about--for some reason he thought that on a caught foul ball the runner has to be tagged, not the base. The head coach of the batting team, who is a good guy, didn't manage to ask us before the next pitch, which meant a protest couldn't be lodged. Which was great for me because it would have been paperwork for me to fill out to prove I was right. But anyway, he, another ump who has a (I think) grandkid on the team, and this assistant were insistent that I had it wrong. I offered to get the rulebook after the game and show them for their education (I didn't know the rule number right off the top of my head, but I was certain I was right.) So there isn't an incident that I'm here bitching about--the head coach, whom I showed the rulebook afterwords, admittedly he wasn't as familiar with the rules minutiae as he thought his helper was, so he defered to him and backed his position.)
What I want to ask the Teeming Handful (that means you) is have you ever had, or heard of anyone having, this misconception? I mean, missunderstanding the infield fly rule or something fairly uncommon like obstruction or a fair ball hitting the runner doesn't surprise me. Sometimes the rules aren't perfectly intuitive but if you think about them they make some kind of sense. I just cannot come up with a way in which the wrong interpretation I was confronted with tonight makes any sense whatsoever. (I mean, if the runner runs to second without retouching first, this guy's position says you have to chase him down with the ball.) And since I've never encountered it before, I'd like to know to if I'm being snooty thinking this guy (though definitely polite about it) was completely off his rocker.